Life Cycle of a Termite

The life cycle of a termite indicates three classes or stages of a termite, they are reproductive, soldier and the worker. The life cycle of a termite involves in these three classes only. The termites are the insects which participate in social life to fulfill their objectives. The termite identification can be done on the basis of its region.

Initial life cycle of a termite

The reproduction has the composite eyes and is more or less brown because of their sclerotized cuticle. The growing reproductive has wing stumps or wings, wing buds. The reproductive can be divided into three further phases; they are de-alates, queen and king and the neotenics.

Second Stage of the life cycle of a termite

The workers are wingles, sterile and blind females and males, their cuticle is not hardened, and thus the animals are curbed to a moist and dark environment. They build their galleries and nest, care for offspring and feed the soldiers and reproductives and get the food. The time period of worker’s life is of one to two years.

Last Stage of the life cycle of a termite

The soldiers are similar to the workers sterile as they are also blind and wingless females and males with an unsclerotized, unpigmented cuticle. They defend their colony from the intruders by expelling a white humid sickening from an opening on their heads or by the powerful jaws. Soldiers are unable to feed by themselves and are fed by the workers.

They can either be nasute or mandibulate as depending upon the species. They are generally smaller than the number of the workers and can be used for identifying termite species. You can use the termite pictures to see the whole life cycle of a termite. There is also a difference in termite feeding habits depending on the different life cycle of a termite.

Incoming search terms:

Comments are closed.